Sea of Serenity Panels Day 2

We are proud to be hosting such a wide range of panels this weekend! Please note that all panels will be either streamed or hosted on the Jfashion on Demand Twitch account. We have some panelists that are streaming from their own Twitch accounts as well, so you can visit either their link or the event link to view the panel. If you miss a panel, no worries! We will be uploading to Youtube after the event. If you are interested in any of the DIY or follow-along panels, make sure you check out the associated links to their panel so you can purchase a kit or prepare items before the panel starts.  

Sunday, September 6th, 2020

Beauty is Pain: J-Fashion in the Mental Health Sphere*
11:00 am – 12:15pm Eastern Time / 8:00 – 9:15am Pacific Time (90 min)
Host: Jehlei, Puvithel, Lulu Van Hoagland
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand 
Feminism, activism, and self-care are intertwined with the wear and creation of Japanese street fashions. Your frills are your armor; Come learn more about JFashion’s mental healther and activism roots – and the psychology behind it – with artist Lulu VanHoagland, menhera designer Puvithel, and therapist Jehlei!
*trigger warning: discussions of mental health

Whimsical World of Wigs
12:30 – 1:30pm Eastern Time / 9:30 – 10:30am Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Kat
Twitch Link: https://www.twitch.tv/theblackat
Wig woes wearing you down? Too tired to tussle with tangled tendrils? Look no further! Whether it’s styling, detangling, wearing, or buying wigs, there’s something to be learned by any wig wearer in this witty wig wrangling walk-through!
In this panel we’ll review wigs from a few different brands, talk about detangling, and go over a few styling tips for Lolita and daily wear. Got long hair – no problem! We’ll talk about a few solutions for wigging with long hair, too!

Coping Through Art – Menhera*
1:45 – 2:45pm Eastern Time / 10:45 – 11:45am Pacific TIme (60 min)
Host: Puvithel
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand 
Menhera is casual, cute, and a self-expression of our struggles, sickness, and symptoms with origins rooted in activism. Come learn about this fashion with indie designer Puvithel.
*trigger warning: discussions of mental health

J-Fashion and Social Media*
3:00 – 4:30pm Eastern Time / 12:00 – 1:30pm Pacific Time (90 min)
Host: Mindy, Obsixwi, Stephano Buttcape, Hannah/Cake, Kaiser
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand 
A discussion of how social media has affected J-fashion culture and advice on how you can further your reach while remaining genuine and socially accountable without letting social media adversely affect your own notion of self-worth. 
*trigger warning: discussions of mental health, body image

Mori Kei: An Introduction to Forest Fashion
4:45 – 5:45pm Eastern Time / 1:45 – 2:45pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Madeline
Twitch Link: https://www.twitch.tv/Petite_Madeline
“Mori Kei: The look of a person who lives in the forest.” Mori girl, Madeline, will take you on a tour through the history and basics of Mori Kei.  Discover how you can join this enchanting fashion subculture and lifestyle!

Voices in the Kawaii Riot
6:00 – 7:00pm Eastern Time / 3:00 – 4:00pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Kawaii Riot Advocacy Directors
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand
We will be introducing the Kawaii Riot Project along with sharing the importance of conversations, education, and accessibility for activism in the community. Panelists will share how advocacy and alternative fashion unite and what advocacy means for them. Our panelists will review some of the points they wish had more platforms in the community discussions and how social change is essential for the community to take part in.

Mixing Alternative Styles for Beginners
7:15 – 8:15pm Eastern Time / 4:15 – 5:15pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Kamilah Jones of Hard Decora
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand  
Are you in love with multiple styles of alternative fashion and wish you could just wear them all? In this panel by illustrator/designer of Hard Decora will teach you how to quench your thirst for multiple styles without looking like a confused mess. 

A Very Creatively Titled Makeup Panel by Dollfille
8:30 – 10:15pm Eastern Time / 5:30 – 7:15pm Pacific Time (90 min)
Host: Toshi Salvino 
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/dollfille
Join Toshi for a fun makeup tutorial on how to come up with a creative look based on your outfit! Please ask a million questions and let’s have fun together ~ ! 
Join along creating a look with me to be entered into a special giveaway! Tag your look #DollfilleSea  and check out her webshop at https://dollfille.bigcartel.com/

Old-School Lolita History and How-To
10:30 – 11:30pm Eastern Time / 7:30 – 8:30pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Purestmaiden
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/jfashionondemand  
With old-school lolita fashions coming back into style, you may be wondering what old school looks like and how you can participate. Wonder no more- we’ll use this panel as an opportunity to briefly run through the origins and aesthetics of old-school before providing you some tips and tricks on how to achieve a perfectly frumpy old-school look of your own!

DIY with Paradise Rose Shop: Fairy Kei Star Clips
11:45pm – 12:45am Eastern Time / 8:45 – 9:45pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Lili of Paradise Rose Shop
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/LilianaAvriel 
Click here to buy the kit!
Learn how to make a fairy kei star clip/pin with the designer of Paradise Rose Shop. These clips are a staple in fairy kei and lolita fashion for many years. During the panel you’ll learn everything you need to know about how these clips are made. Kits are available to purchase for the event, or even after as the panel will be recorded, on the Paradise Rose Shop Etsy page.

Kawaii or Kowai: J-fashion Release Review
1:00 – 2:00am Eastern Time / 10:00 – 11:00pm Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Plentiful Pie, Mani Tokkigo 
Twitch Link: twitch.tv/cookiesandcream 
Join Plentiful Pie and Mani Tokkigo as they review and pass judgement on the latest releases from J-fashion brands!  Bring your own tea and participate in chat!

Kimono 201: Seasonality and Motifs
2:15 – 3:15am Eastern Time / 11:15pm – 12:15am Pacific Time (60 min)
Host: Halley M. of The Black Ribbon
Twitch Link: www.twitch.tv/retrogamechan
Ever wonder if those floral, geometric, and animal motifs in traditional Japanese textiles have additional meaning? Let’s talk about how those relate to traditional Japanese clothing and the concept of seasonality!